101 Posts Celebration! Tutorial

August 27, 2012 at 7:49 pm 2 comments

Hi all! River here!  So today I though that I’d go over what I did to make the graphic celebrating the Cyber Creation Club’s one-hundred-and-first post.

101 Posts Celebration!

In this tutorial, I’m going to go over my own personal drawing/coloring process, rather than showing you how to use GIMP.  With that said, here we go!

For the 101st post, I thought that I would do a cute picture of Koko and her puffly, Peach, celebrating.  This is the sketch I started with, done in pencil in my sketchbook.

101 posts sketch

Gotta love those noisemakers.

After I scanned it in, I uploaded it into GIMP 2.  (Love love love GIMP!)  Here I started inking. . .

101 posts 2

And the real work begins.

. . . only to realize that I hadn’t yet flipped the image to check if Koko’s proportions were correct.

101 posts 2 flipped

Weird pose–her head doesn’t line up with the rest of her body yet.

Sure enough, they weren’t, so I sketched in some guidelines in blue and flipped it again.

101 posts 3--guidelines

Have I mentioned lately that I love layers? It makes doing things like this oh so easy.

Then I started inking all over again.  (Hey, at least I hadn’t inked in the whole image yet, right?)  I also added the text and tilted it to kind of get the curved banner.  Here’s the complete ink.

101 posts complete pen

I wonder why Koko has that mischievous gleam in her eye. . .?

Then I roughed out the colors.  I know that some people (I’m looking at you, Purin XD) like to select and area and fill it to color, but I like/end up leaving a lot of little breaks in the lines. . . and I’m too lazy to go look for them and connect them. . . so it’s a bit messy.

101 posts rough color

. . . Koko’s eyes look a little creepy, don’t they. . . ?

I started to clean it up, then realized that I couldn’t see the skin tone very well against the white background.  So I made the background a dark purple.  At this stage, I also corrected Koko’s ear:  Being a koala ear, not a human ear, it needed to be further up and painted grey.

101 posts 6

Lo and behold the dark background, savior of artists everywhere!

After I completed the clean up, I made Peach more fluffy-looking, completed Koko’s eyes, and shaded in the picture using a fuzzy brush.  Unfortunately, some of the shades I used were too light, and don’t look different than the base color when I posted the picture on the web. TT-TT  I apologize. .  .  I’ve really got to start using more saturated colors for shading. . . .

101 posts 7

You could tell that there were shadows in GIMP, I swear!

Here, I added highlights to Koko’s hair.  I also added confetti floating around, colored the text pink, and made the background a gradient.  I also fixed a few details–like adding the green stripes on Koko’s lollipop and the green bead on her dress.  And here it is!

101 Posts Celebration!

Time to celebrate!

In hindsight, I should have added a shadow or something to the text to make it stand out a little more from the background, huh. . .?  TT-TT

So how did you like it?  Want more tutorials like this?  Then please comment!  And keep an eye out in the next few weeks–you never know what we’ll be up to!

~River

Entry filed under: Art, Tutorials. Tags: , , , , , .

Sing With Me ~UTAU~ Ten Under Ten: Manga Favorites

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Jimbo  |  December 10, 2012 at 6:03 pm

    Great tutorial, River.

    Reply
    • 2. River  |  December 10, 2012 at 6:04 pm

      Thank you!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


August 2012
S M T W T F S
« Jul   Sep »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031  

Want to hear about our adventures as soon as we have them? Enter your email address here!

Join 12 other followers


